Top 5 Vacation Destination

I know I haven’t been blogging since.. all because I was so busy with all the traveling and meet-ups with friends whom I haven’t been hanging out with for awhile. Nevertheless, here I am!!!! so happened to be down with i-don’t-know-what-the-hell-is-wrong-with-me illness and was given another 2 days medical leave after recovering from some viral infection. Terrible isn’t it?

Been home since afternoon, resting on the bed…and start reminiscing my vacation trips to Bangkok, Bali, Perth etc… Awww… I’m longing for vacation now! That explains what this post is all about! The top 5 vacation destination I’m planning to visit. Just would like to share with you readers =)

1. Beijing, China (北京)

Temple of Heaven - Beijing China

A country that is rich in culture and history intrigues an avid traveler like me to explore the city’s ancient past. Beijing, being one of the six ancient cities in China are one of the most popular tourist destination.

The most famous tourist attraction in Beijing would have to be the Great Wall of China. No trip to Beijing is complete if you haven’t visit the Great Wall! There are many controversy on if it is visible from the space through naked eye but no one can confirm that. However, it is still amazing how this man-made wall was built.

Here is a list of attractions you must visit if you are going Beijing:

  1. Great Wall of China *
  2. Forbidden City *
  3. Temple of Heaven *
  4. Tian An Men Square *
  5. Summer Palace
  6. National Stadium
  7. Ming Tombs
  8. Beijing Zoo

2. Tokyo, Japan (東京)

Tokyo, being the capital and one of the 47 prefectures in Japan is also one of the world’s most popular metropolitan city. Definitely on a shopaholic list of destination to visit!

As a first time visitor to Japan, I thought Tokyo would be the best and the easiest place to explore. Friends have been talking about Shibuya, Shinjuku, Harajuku, Tokyo Disneyland etc… I’ve been yearning to visit this beautiful city and it’s culture and be spoil with unlimited choices of shopping, entertainment and dining. Of course , we must not forget to visit the historical shrines and gardens!

Tokyo Attractions:

  1. Shibuya*
  2. Shinjuku*
  3. Sensoji Temple
  4. Asakusa*
  5. Tokyo Skytree
  6. Tokyo Disneyland
  7. Ghibli Museum*
  8. Harajuku
  9. Ueno Park
  10. Tsukiji Fish Market

3. Kathmandu, Nepal (尼泊爾)


Call me adventurous? For once… you just have to visit Nepal. Serious! I am sure it is never on your list of destination to visit. Am I right? Maybe for those who are not into scenery and mountains. However, do consider visiting Nepal as it has so much to offer to you. Just take a look at the Himalayas! Go Google it!

Nepal is located in South Asia between China in the north and India in the south, east and west. The country can be divided into three main geographical regions: Himalayan region, mid hill region and Terai region. The highest point in the country is Mt. Everest (8,848 m). Source from http://welcomenepal.com

The Himalayas cover three fourth of Nepal and is one of the highest and most difficult trekking expedition in the world. I can’t do trekking with my current health conditions but there is always an alternative to visit the mountains (that’s what a friend of mine did). There are a few private domestic flight companies that offers an hour mountain flight, also known as the Everest experience which enables you to have an adventure flying at an altitude of 24,000 feet (8,000 m) over the snow capped mountains from Mt. Gauri Shankar to Mt. Ama Dablam to the highest peak in the world – Mount Everest. It is a life time experience that certainly take your breathe away. Something not to be missed! Other than the mountains, there are many historical sites and attractions that brings you on a cultural Nepal.

Nepal Attractions:

  1. Bodnath Stupa*
  2. Kopan Monastery *
  3. Swayambhunath Temple
  4. Durbar Square*
  5. Asan Street Market*
  6. Thamel*

4. Greece (希臘)

In Greece, there are much more than just golden sandy beaches. There are archaeological sites and islands. The islands are what symbolizes the country’s culture and tradition. The Greek islands includes 6,000 islands and islets scattered among Aegean and Ionian Seas in which only 227 islands are inhabited.
I start drooling when I learn about that! It is a country you ought to visit! From the famous Santorini to the Athens! Mesmerizing! Source from http://www.visitgreece.gr/

Tourists will be able to step foot in the Greek history with many archaeological museums and collections from the Paleolithic Era to the Roman Period.

I think it makes an awesome honeymoon vacation too, given the beautiful islands and beaches. Spend a week of lovely and romantic moments..away from the concrete jungle. I probably pen this down on my honeymoon list (if i ever gonna get married).

Greece Attractions:

  1. The Acropolis Museum*
  2. Acropolis*
  3. Monastiraki
  4. Hammam Bath (Spa)*
  5. Oia*
  6. Fira*
  7. Kamari Beach*
  8. Ancient Thera*
  9. Boutari Winery*

5. Rome, Italy (意大利)

 “A past week of togetherness couldn’t withstand an obstacle short of expectations from either party. Rome isn’t built within a day…” – anonymous

Someone once text me the above message and whenever I think about Rome I think of the message. Whoever the person is, it remain as anonymous and my heart will deeply remember…

I’ve seen many of my friends pinning Rome as one of the place they would like to visit on TripAdvisor while I was doing research on this blog post.

Rome is the capital of Italy, it has many cultural and historical remains of ancient Rome. A beauty from modern and old, past and present. Today’s Rome has become the world’s most famous open-air museum. Beside the ancient architectures, there are also art galleries, museums and many other tourist attractions. Get ready your cameras and you’re on your sightseeing expeditions!

Rome Greece Attractions:

  1. Collosseum*
  2. San Giovanni in Laterano
  3. Basilica di San Clemente
  4. Pantheon*
  5. Roman Forum*
  6. St.Peter’s Square (Piazza San Pietro)*
  7. Vatican City*
  8. Via Veneto
  9. Trevi Fountain (Fontana di Trevi)*

(*) i must visit!!!!

Have I inspired you to plan a holiday trip to any of the destination mentioned? I hope I did. I am not really a shopping person when it comes to traveling as I feel Singapore has everything I need. From Abercrombie & Fitch, H&M, Comme des Garcons, Samantha Thavasa etc.. most of the brands are here! Why do I need to complete my shopping elsewhere when I already have the major international brands in my country? Spend your money elsewhere and on something which you think you must do so you can die with no regrets! Pen it on your bucket list!

If you haven’t leave Singapore…not even once in your life! What are you thinking? Get out of here and explore! From there, you will realize life has so much to offer to you and you don’t want to waste a day in your life doing nothing and accomplish zero dreams! Life is how you make of it! =P

How many wish to be able to walk, talk and sleep like a normal person? You have it, then don’t waste it!

xoxo
potatospinach ❤

2 responses to “Top 5 Vacation Destination

    • yea back on wordpress this time. i was suppose to go Beijing in Nov too but becos of my job I had to postpone my trip to next year =( Nov should be quite cold. maybe snowing? =)

Leave a Reply

